[League of Legends / LoL] Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

This page contains a list on the frequently asked questions in League of Legends (FAQ), including system requirements, client interface, and many more.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is League of Legends?

League of Legends (LoL) is a free-to-play third person Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) by Riot Games. It puts players in the role of unseen “summoners” that control a multitude of unique characters called “champions” that each have unique skills and abilities in battle. The game mostly follows a team-based player-versus-player (PvP) format with the goal of destroying the opposing group’s “nexus” which are at the heart of a heavily-defended base in the map. There are various other games modes, each with very specific conditions and mechanics that allow for different strategies and playstyles throughout every match.

League of Legends is only available in PC.

What are the System Requirements of League of Legends?

Minimum Specifications Recommended Specifications
CPU 2 GHz processor (supporting SSE2 instruction set or higher) 3 GHz processor
Memory 1 GB RAM (2 GB of RAM for Windows Vista and newer) 2 GB of RAM (4 GB of RAM for Windows Vista and higher)
Disk Space 8 GB available hard disk space 12 GB available hard disk space
Video Card
  • Shader version 2.0 capable video card
  • Screen resolutions up to 1920×1200
Nvidia GeForce 8800/AMD Radeon HD 5670 or equivalent video card (Dedicated GPU with 512MB or higher Video Memory(VRAM))
Operating System
  • Windows XP (Service Pack 3 ONLY)
  • Windows Vista
  •  Windows 7
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 10
  • Windows XP SP3
  • Windows Vista
  • Windows 7
  • Windows 8.1
  •  Windows 10 with the latest service pack installed
The latest update to .NET Framework from Microsoft.
The latest version of Adobe AIR is required to connect to PVP.net.

How Do I Buy RP?

You can buy Riot Points by going to the Shop at the upper right corner of the client then click Purchase RP at the top of the page. There are also different methods per region on where you can buy Riot Points. This can be in the form of a card or online purchase.

How is Rank Determined in League of Legends?

When you hit Level 30, you can now enter ranked games. This mode enables you to rank yourself against different players and determine your standing in your region.

You will first play 10 provisional games in order to determine your first ranking. From there you can work your way to the top. Players gain points when they win games and lose points when they lose a gameRankings reset every season, you might drop down a rank or two after every season. The ranks are as follows from lowest to highest.

Bronze V-I > Silver V-I > Gold V-I > Platinum V-I > Diamond V-I > Master > Challenger

From Bronze to Diamond, there are five divisions in each ranking; Five being the lowest and one being the highest. You need to reach 100 points in each division in order to get a chance to be promoted. You must win 2/3 games in your promotion series in order to advance to the next division.

If you are in the one division and reached 100 points, you will get a chance to be promoted to the next rank. You need to win 3/5 games in order to advance to the next ranking.

You need to play atleast once in a certain number of days if you are platinum above and want to maintain your rank. If you do not play for a while your points will decay, and it might eventually reach zero and you’ll get demoted. You need to play atleast one ranked game in 28 days if you dont want to decay. The number is increased for master and challenger, as they need to play a ranked game in 10 days before decaying. The number of points decayed are as follows:

Platinum – 35 points

Diamond – 50 points

Master – 100 points

Challenger – 100 points

How Does Hextech Crafting Work?

Hextech Crafting is a fairly new mechanic in League of Legends that gives you a chance to earn free skins, champions, and ward skins when you open a Hextech chest.

You need to have a chest and a key in order to open a hextech chest. You can get key fragments from playing match made games , while chests are dropped when you get a high mastery score on a champion. You need three key fragments in order to craft one key.

When you open a chest, you’ll either get a champion, skin, or a ward icon shard. You can sometimes get a gemstone, which is rare. You have a lot of choices when you obtain a shard. You can either –

  1. Re-roll the shard with two other shards in order to get a random permanent champion or skin.
  2. You can buy a champion using blue essence, or a skin for orange essence. You can obtain essences by shattering a shard. Champion shards give you blue essence while skin shards give you orange essence.
  3. You can get them for a short time by renting it. It won’t cost you anything, but you can only use it for 30 days.

There are some exclusive items like Soulstealer Vayne and Hextech Annie that can only be obtainable if you have 10 gemstones. If you don’t want any of the exclusive items, you can just exchange the gemstone for a key and a chest.

Alternatively, you can buy chests and keys in the shop for RP.

You will not receive any chests or key if you are recently  punished by the tribunal. However, you can have the privilege to earn loots again if the tribunal has decided that you have changed your behavior.

How Do I Increase my Champion Mastery?

Just play the champion. You will earn more mastery points if you win the game while you will earn less if you lose. The requirements for earning a mastery level 6 or 7 requires a lot more than playing the game. You must earn 2 S- or above champion score in a game to get a mastery level 6 token.

two level 6 tokens and blue essences or a champion shard of the champion you want to level up will increase that champions mastery to level 6.

You need 3 S or S+ score to get tokens for level 7. Same with the level 6 requirements, you need blue essences or a champion shard of the champion you want to level up to proceed.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Be the first to comment