Final Fantasy 7 Remake - Difficulty Setting Guide

A guide on game difficulty settings in Final Fantasy 7 Remake. Included are the characteristics of Easy, Normal, and Classic modes, as well the recommended difficulty setting when starting a new game.

Final Fantasy 7 Remake - Game Mode Guide

Final Fantasy 7 Remake Game Difficulties

Before starting a new game, you will be required to select the difficulty. Note that it is possible to change this setting at any time during the main story.

Final Fantasy 7 Remake - Game Mode Guide

Game Mode Description
Classic The player-controlled character will attack and defend automatically, allowing you to focus on executing commands. The battle difficulty is the same as Easy.
Easy Select this if you want to enjoy the story without worrying about battles.
Normal The standard difficulty. Select this if you want to full experience battles as well as the story.
Hard* ?

*May be unlocked after clearing the game for the first time on any difficulty mode.

About Game Difficulties


Classic mode provides the closest experience to the original game by letting characters attack and defend on their own. You will only need to issue commands to use Abilities, Spells, and Items once they have at least one ATB bar.

Note that you will still be able to control characters manually by tilting the left analog stick to move or pressing the attack, guard, and dodge commands. Characters will be controlled automatically again once you have stopped pressing inputting any of the mentioned commands.

Classic Mode is recommended for fans of the game who prefer its old combat system.


Easy mode plays the same as Normal mode, requiring you to manually control characters in battle, but features weaker enemies. Foes encountered in this mode are also not as aggressive as those found in Normal mode.

Easy Mode is recommended for players who wish to enjoy the game’s story and prefer a stress-free experience during combat.


Coming soon.


Normal mode is the game’s standard difficulty, letting the player experience challenging battles as they go deeper into the main story. As with Easy mode, operating characters is done manually.

Which difficulty setting should you choose?

It is recommended to begin the game on Normal mode as it provides you with the full challenge of combat. There is a rewarding feeling of having won against tough enemies that you should not miss out.

In addition, the difficulty setting can be changed at any time while progressing through the main story, so you might as well try to experience the game in its standard setting. Lower the difficulty only if you really cannot get through a tough enemy or boss.

Leave a Reply

Be the first to comment