Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age / FFXII - Recommended Gambits

A list of recommended Gambits to obtain early in Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age, including explanations on why they are useful.

Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age / FFXII: TZA - Game Guide and Walkthrough

Best Gambits to Obtain Early

Your allies have a variety of commands known as Gambits. These Gambits function similarly to tactics or orders in combat that your allies will have to follow. Issuing a Gambit to an ally allows them to perform a specific role in battle.

Each of the gambits, however, vary depending on the character the orders are issued to.

Basic Information on Gambit System

Below are the gambits the player should buy as early as possible.

Gambit Explanation
Foe: Flying This is for dealing with flying enemies. Those who have ranged weapons should have a Gambit combo that deals specifically with flying foes.
Foe: Undead The Undead Gambit allows players to maximize damage against Undead creatures. Characters who have healing abilities or White Mage or Monk are best suited to this gambit.
Self: Buff Buffs are important. They can function as a “difficulty slider” that helps take down bosses and Espers. Buffs like Shell, Libra, Protect, and Haste can make the battle easier.
Foe: Character Status: Blind Combo with Sight Unseeing and the Poach skill.
Foe: Critical HP
 Foe: More Than or Equal to 2 Dealing with multiple crowds and incoming mobs.
Foe: 100% – Steal  Stealing items that may only be exclusive to bosses. Equip the Thief’s Cuffs to increase the chances of stealing an item.

Notes and Sample Combos

Gambits are not only restricted to a single command. The gambits arrange themselves by priority. In doing so, the actions executed follow in that particular order.

For example, if you’re planning to use a character as a tank and playing a Time Battlemage:

  1. Ally: Any = Remedy or any Ailment Healing Item
  2. Ally: Any = Phoenix Down
  3. Ally: any character on high damage class = Haste
  4. Ally: any character on high damage class = Berserk
  5. Self = Decoy
  6. Self = Libra

The numbers on the side are the gambit’s priority. The priority numbers dictate the order of the gambits’ importance. Once executed, the gambit list will loop until the battle ends. However, not all jobs work with a single Gambit combo. Several Gambit combos optimize specific traits of specific jobs.

If you have any suggested Gambit Combos, leave a comment below!

Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age / FFXII Recommended Article List

▼Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age Recommended Articles
Walkthroughs Side Quests Characters
Storyline Boss Guides Sidequest Boss Guides Esper Boss Guides
Job Class System Gambit System License Board System
Mob Hunts Unchangeable Elements Leveling Guide

Leave a Reply

Be the first to comment