Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes

Details about the different game modes found in Fire Emblem: Three Houses. There are a total of six different game mode combinations to choose from.

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Walkthrough and Strategy Guide

Game Modes in Fire Emblem: Three Houses

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes

In Fire Emblem: Three Houses, you can choose between two difficulty settings and two styles of play before the beginning of the story. As such, there are up to six game mode combinations for players to choose from, allowing them to really personalize their experience according to their preferences.

Difficulty Settings

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - New Maddening Difficulty Mode

Normal Mode

The standard difficulty setting. Enemies will be easy early in the game but will get tougher as the story progresses. Playing in this mode, auxiliary battles will not consume stamina. Also, you’ll be able to carry over any experience acquired if you retreat from a battle.

Hard Mode

A difficulty setting is designed for experienced players, particularly those who have played other Fire Emblem games in the past. Enemies will have higher levels than most of your units, but they will give more EXP when defeated. Auxiliary battles will always consume stamina and the player won’t be able to keep the experience earned if they retreat from a battle.

Maddening Mode

This third mode adds more features to the Hard difficulty setting. The mode is intended for series veterans and tactical geniuses who are craving a challenge. Not only will enemies have higher levels than most of your units, but they will now also gain additional abilities that can hurt your team. For example, thief enemies now have a “Pass” ability where they can go through occupied spaces and make your protected, vulnerable units susceptible. Moreover, arriving enemy reinforcements will now start to move and attack in the same turn. Lastly, boss enemy units, such as the Death Knight, will now move and attempt to attack your units at the start of the battle.

For players who are able to clear the Maddening without selecting New Game+, the game’s title screen will change.

Styles of Play

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes


The traditional playstyle found in early Fire Emblem titles. Units whose HP drops to zero will no longer be playable, which will make them permanently deceased for the rest of the story.


A more forgiving mode which allows units with 0 HP to recover and participate in the next mission.


Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes

In addition to the difficulty settings and style of play, players can also access the extras option. By pressing extras, you’ll be able to access four new options of music library, movie gallery, voiceover language, and wipe data.

Music Library

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes

The music library allows the player to listen to the game’s music after hearing it in the game.

Movie Gallery

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes

The movie gallery gives the player a chance to rewatch video cutscenes that they have seen in the story.

Voiceover Language

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Game Modes

The player can also switch the voiceover language used in the game whenever they like.

Wipe Data

Lastly, wipe data allows the player to clear their save data.


Aside from these game modes, players will also need to choose which house they want to belong to. Details about the three houses can be seen by clicking the coat of arms or links below.

Black Eagles

Other Beginner Guides

Getting Started
 Game Modes Game Menu Game Controls
Online Features Permanent Events What to Do First
Which House to Choose - -
Tutoring  Free Day Activities Professor Levels
Skill System Support System Motivation System
Budding Talents Class Change and Exams Group Tasks
Battle System Battalions Divine Pulse
 Saint Statues Amiibo Gazebo Personal Abilities
Free Day Activities
Dining Cooking Together Tea Party
Fishing Gardening Locating Lost Items
Choir Practice Advice Box Giving Gifts
Tournaments Seminars -

Fire Emblem: Three Houses Recommended Article List

▼Top Page Articles
Walkthroughs Characters Classes
Beginner Guides Strategy Guides Game Database
Best Characters Best Classes Professor Levels
Dialogue Choices Lecture Room Advice Box
Tea Party Topics Favorite Gifts Lost Items
▼Popular Guides
Recommended Classes Tea Party Topics Lysithea Tea Party Guide
Ingrid Tea Party Guide Marianne Tea Party Guide Dorothea Tea Party Guide
Claude Tea Party Guide Hilda Tea Party Guide Petra Tea Party Guide
 Shamir Tea Party Guide Dancer Class List of Characters
▼Popular Tea Party Guides
Lysithea von Ordelia Ingrid Brandol Galatea Marianne von Edmund
Dorothea Arnault Claude von Riegan Hilda Valentine Goneril
Petra Macneary Shamir Nevrand Flayn
Felix Fraldarius Bernadetta von Varley Leonie Pinelli

Leave a Reply

Be the first to comment